Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Barbara Defranoux : Littérature anglaise
30 janvier 2013

Jacqueline Woodson, My Crazy Beautiful World

 

woodson_jacqueline_lg (1)

 

"I used to say I’d be a teacher or a lawyer or a hairdresser when I grew up but even as I said these things, I knew what made me happiest was writing." J. Woodson

 

Jacqueline Woodson was born on Febuary 12th in 1963 in Columbus. She's an author who writes books targeted children , teenagers and young adults. She has written stories since she was a child and loves telling stories about African American because she's one of them .

First of all My Crazy Beautiful World is my first Jacqueline Woodson's story. It broaches themes of insecurity, freedom, relationship in general and childhood and autobiography (already seen with Gary Sotto in a "A significant event").

So this is the story of Angela a 16 years old girl but in the text she speaks of herself when she was 12 years. This young girl is obviously a black american and she is extremely preoccupied with her appearance, she's tall for her young age and insecure ! She also feels really different with her older sister and her best friend, Maria a white girl who is from Angela's point of view prettier than her and free, sure of herself. by the way we can see the Angela's insecurity is extremely present in the text ! There is also the passage of her grandmother which is very important in the story ; they are both really close. We can see she talks a lot with her during simple moments of the day for example when she combs her hair. In that passage she doesn't talk that much of her mother, Angela is not really close to her but she loves her even if she's not so present in her life.  

Angela's family are practicing Jehovah's Witnesses, so religion is a part of her life. Angela goes to temple every sunday with her grand mother because her mother doesn't believe in this religion and she simply doesn't attend. 

We can guess that story is interesting for people because when you're young, a teenager or a child you can feel like Angela feels ! Who has never felt different at one time or another during one's childhood ? I feel very concerned with Angela's feeling because I also suffered because of my height and my insecurity by the way I think I'm still insecure.. 

The themes of that story are really present in our lives so I think it's a really good story and many teenagers can recognize them through this character, so I recommend this story which young people will find easy to read !

Hope you liked it, Barbara.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Barbara Defranoux : Littérature anglaise
Publicité
Archives
Publicité